University of Belgrade

Home > International > SIGMA


SIGMA project provides funding for academic mobility from the Western Balkans to the EU and vice versa. The project is financed by the European Commission.

Facebook Please visit the official page of SIGMA project on Facebook.

The partnership within the SIGMA project includes 9 EU universities and 10 universities in the Western Balkans.

Universities in the EU and candidate countries:

University of Warsaw, Poland (coordinator)
City University London, UK
Freie Universität Berlin, Germany
Lund University, Sweden
University of Milan, Italy
University of Montpellier 2, France
University of Salzburg, Austria
University of Twente, The Netherlands
Wrocław University of Technology, Poland

Universities of the Western Balkans:

Shkodra University, Albania
University of Belgrade, Serbia
University of Business and Technology, Kosovo as defined under UNSCR 1244/99
University of Montenegro, Montenegro
University of Niš, Serbia
University of Novi Sad, Serbia
University of Prishtina, Kosovo as defined under UNSCR 1244/99
University of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
University "St. Kliment Ohridski" Bitola, FYR of Macedonia
University of Tuzla, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Which academic disciplines are eligible?

SIGMA project is open for mobility in all academic areas.

We kindly ask all interested students, before they apply for any of these programs, to contact Faculties of the University of Belgrade where the program is being taught, so they could once again check the language requirements of the study program they are interested in.

Who can apply for the scholarship within SIGMA project at the University of Belgrade?

Students, academic and administrative staff, who are divided in two Target groups by the European Commission:

Target group 1: Students and staff registered at one of the EU universities - a member of SIGMA Consortium, holding the nationality of the one of 27 EU member states.

Target Group 2: The nationals of the one of 27 EU member states that are currently registered/working at one of the higher education institutions (not included in the partnership) of any EU country or students who have obtained a university degree or equivalent from a Higher Education Institution of any EU member state.

Available duration of mobility:

  • Bachelor students : 1 academic semester or 1 academic year
  • Master students : 1 academic semester or 1 academic year
  • Doctoral students : 1 academic semester or 1 academic year
  • Post-doctoral students : 1 academic semester
  • Academic and administrative staff: 1 month mobility period

How to apply?

The call for application is expected to be open from December 1, 2012 until January 31, 2013.

You can find more detailed information on the website of the project:

We ask all interested parties to regularly check this site in order to be informed of calls for registration and deadlines for submission of the necessary documents in a timely manner. Information about partner-universities can be found at their respective websites (clicking on the name of the desired university will open a new window with the desired university's web page).

All candidates apply online at the following address.

For additional questions about the program, please contact Ms. Marta Barbaric, at the following e-mail address: