University of Belgrade

Home > International > BASILEUS project

BASILEUS project


BASILEUS project (BalkansAcademicScheme for theInternationalization of Learning in cooperation withEUuniversities) provides funding of academic mobility from the Western Balkans to the EU and vice versa. The partnership within the BASILEUS project consists of 8 EU universities and 12 universities from the Western Balkans:

Universities in the EU:

University of Ghent, Belgium (coordinator of the project)
University of Nice Sophia Antipolis, France
University of Lund, Sweden
University of Rome La Sapienza, Italy
University of Heidelberg, Germany
University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
University Sv. Kliment Ohridski in Sofia, Bulgaria
Alexander Technological Educational Institution of Thessaloniki (ATEI), Greece

Universities of the Western Balkans:

University Fan with. Noli, Korce, Albania
University of Shkodra, Albania
University of Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
University of Zagreb, Croatia
University Sv. Cyril and Methodius University in Skopje, Macedonia
University Sv. Kliment Ohridski in Bitola, Macedonia
SEE University in Tetovo, Macedonia
University of Pristina, Kosovo (by resolution 1244)
University of Montenegro, Montenegro
University of Belgrade, Serbia
University of Kragujevac, Serbia
University of Novi Sad, Serbia (co-coordinator of the project)

The project is financed by the European Commission and this is the first project of this type in the region, since the Bologna Declaration was signed.

Which academic disciplines are eligible?

BASILEUS project is open to mobility in all academic areas.

Who can participate in the BASILEUS project?

Students, teachers and administrative staff of all partner universities, both from the Western Balkans and EU countries can apply for scholarships.

Bachelor students: 1 or 2 academic semester mobility period;
Master students: 1 or 2 academic semester mobility period;
Doctoral students: 6 or 10 months mobility period;
Post-doctoral students: 10 months mobility period
Academic staff (teaching, training and research): 1 month mobility period

The target groups of students (Target groups)

Students are divided into three target groups by the European Commission:
Target group 1: Students and staff registered at one of the universities - a member of the BASILEUS consortium.
Target Group 2: The citizens of Western Balkan countries who are currently registered in one of the University of the Western Balkans, which is not a member of the consortium or students who have acquired one of the higher diploma in any university of the Western Balkans (from the BASILEUS or outside the consortium)
Target Group 3: The citizens of Western Balkan countries who are in particularly vulnerable situations (refugees, asylum seekers, displaced people, etc.).

How do I apply?

All candidates register online at the following address:

For additional questions about the program, please contact the following:
Secretariat Basileus project
International Relations Office of University of Belgrade